08-30-2016, 07:57 AM #1
xSp3Kx
Bebe Snek
(adsbygoogle = window.adsbygoogle || []).push({}); So I've been learning Ruby and I thought this tutorial would be helpful to other people learning Ruby
Basic Guide to Creating a Markov Chain-Driven Twitter Bot

Over the past few weeks I’ve been playing around with different ways of making Twitter bots (automated Twitter accounts). I don’t have much to show for it yet— most of my experimentation has been with @schlinkbot, which probably doesn’t look too impressive at this point. But I’ve learned some foundational stuff.

Anyway, in this post I’m going to be going over how to use a Ruby gem called Twitter Ebooks by GitHub user mispy to make a Twitter bot. There are of course other ways of doing this, but Twitter Ebooks has some nice features. Note: I’m still new to this gem/framework, so excuse any problems. But I did get the bot up and tweeting and replying.

You can read more about Twitter Ebooks at You must login or register to view this content.

Wait, What is This?

Right, so Twitter Ebooks is basically a framework written in Ruby that allows users to create their own Twitter bots. You can think of it like a Twitter bot factory. We want to use it to make one Twitter bot.

Our bot, using Twitter Ebooks, will connect to Twitter using the You must login or register to view this content. This will allow us to send tweets and listen for mentions of our bot. Actually running the bot involves us: (1) creating a twitter account for the bot, (2) registering a Twitter app for the bot, (3) creating a bot with Twitter Ebooks, then (4) running the Ruby code that runs the bot.

Twitter Ebooks, and the bots created with it, are written in a programming language called Ruby. It’s what’s called a Ruby gem, which we’ll need to download in a special way in order to use.

Where Will My Bot Get Its Content From?